Lady Biker Starts a New Year

Posted: January 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

So 2012 is under way and I’m brimming with excitement and enthusiasm for the year ahead. There are so many things I want to do this year and, of course, there’s one special event I’m working on right now – my wedding July 1st. There’s going to be riding for me this year and event planning like I haven’t done in almost 30 years. I’m thinking about rides I want to do and colors for dresses; courthouses (that challenge is still going) and dance music; greasy spoons to ride to and what to feed guests. It’s going to be a great year!

Since this wedding is such a big part of my life, it’s also going to be a big part of my blog. It’s a very important day; I’m marrying a man I adore. We have a great life together now and it’s only going to get better. He’s both a business partner and a life partner. I am definitely happy girl! I’m going to do as much myself as I can and have my great friend, Tracy, help me with the planning because that’s her expertise.

The first thing is the dress. I’ll be sewing it myself and I’ve already picked the pattern with some help from my friends. I know the color (although that will not be revealed here since it’s a secret). I’ll start sewing it in May to give myself some time to lose a few pounds (wouldn’t be a real bride if I weren’t thinking about that, now would I?) and I chose the style with a couple of things in mind. Sure I want to look good. But there’s something else I had to consider: I’ll be riding off on the back of a motorcycle with my baby so it has to work for that. Yes, I’m actually going to ride girlfriend – well, ride wife – that day. Tim will take my bike to wherever we’re staying earlier and I’ll ride with him on the back of his bike when we leave the wedding (which will be at our home). I ordered the pattern today and will start looking for material soon. I’m really too old to be so excited, but there it is. Dress…check.

I also have riding plans for the year. Our honeymoon will, of course, be a riding trip. I don’t know exactly where, but it will be perfect. Tim and I have been fortunate to have taken a number of riding trips together and each of them has been absolutely wonderful. We’ve had nothing but good times together, whether we camp or stay with friends or in a hotel. Riding has been a really important part of our lives together – not everything, but important. How wonderful that we’ll start our marriage with a week of fun on the bikes!

But that’s not all the riding I hope to do this year. I did an Iron Butt (1000 miles in 24 hours) in 2010 but none last year. I think I’d like to do some again in 2012. I have a friend (my wedding planner, Tracy) who is planning some Iron Butts herself. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to work them in since they normally take place on Saturdays and I have to work Saturdays but even if I can’t go with her and her group, I want to do at least one myself.

Tracy and her group are also planning another trip to the Hill Country of Texas to ride the Three Sisters (a challenging trio of country roads that attract thousands of bikers every year). We did that last year and I loved it but there weren’t any flowers because of the drought. I’m hoping for better sights this year.

And there’s my courthouse challenge. There are 254 counties in Texas and each one has a courthouse. There will be rides to capture more courthouse pictures for me. I hope to do the trip I missed out on last September to take on the Texas Panhandle. Maybe over Memorial Day weekend. I still have the entire trip mapped out, ready to go. It’s in my tank bag so I can see the route each time I get on the bike – teasing me, tempting me, encouraging me.

I’ve got 37,000 miles on Coco and I think I’ll finish the year with more than 60,000. That’s a lot of miles for a bike I’ve only been riding since April 2010 but Coco and I have gone a lot of places and don’t plan to stop anytime soon. Tim has always said my bike could easily hit 100,000 miles and I aim to take her that far.

2012 is going to be a great year for me. What about you? What do you have planned? What rides are you hoping to do? I’d love to hear about it.

Until next time, wheels down and eyes up. Let’s ride!

Comments
  1. Alfred Schram says:

    Dear Gwynne,
    I too, am getting excited. Once it gets warmer, we will get the boys to help with the back yard.
    Love,
    Daddy.

  2. And we have to start talking about flowers to plant…that I can’t kill just by looking at them!

    Love you, too, Daddy. You’ve always been my biggest fan.

Leave a Reply

